Estate

History

Way back in 1767 the Wallbillich owned a cooperage in Forst. Besides producing barrels, the cooper Wallbillich also responsible for developing and bottling the wines for the wine-growers in the area (contract cooperage). The estate received its present name from Kurt Mueller's father, the master cooper Eugen Mueller who married into the Wallbillich family in 1935.

The development of cooperage to dealing in wine and then growing it started in 1952. That year a hailstorm destroyed the vine harvest in the Forst vineyards, so that the 30 new barrels Eugen Mueller had produced were no longer required. Eugen Mueller turned this crisis to his advantage by buying in grapes from other areas and developing the wine on his own account. During the next years he acquired more and more vineyards by lease and purchase which led finally in 1971 to the foundation of the Eugen Mueller estate. The company had already given up producing wooden casks a year before, but continued the contract cooperage until 1989.

Kurt Mueller completed his studies in 1971 in Geisenheim and has been running the estate ever since. In 2000 his son Stephan, who also graduated in viniculture at Geisenheim joined the family company. Both are committed to continuing the company philosophy of “uncompromising quality” and with this are producing some of the best wines in Germany.

 

Besuchen Sie uns auf Facebook

Das Weingut

Geschichte

Bereits seit 1767 betrieb die Familie Wallbillich eine Küferei in Forst. Neben der Fassherstellung war der Küfer Wallbillich auch verantwortlich für Ausbau und Füllung der Weine in den umliegenden Weingütern (Lohnküferei). Seinen heutigen Namen erhielt das Weingut von Kurt Müllers Vater, dem Küfermeister Eugen Müller, der 1935 in die Familie Wallbillich einheiratete.

Die Entwicklung von Küferei zu Weinhandel - Weingut begann 1952. In diesem Jahr vernichtete ein Hagelsturm die Weinernte der Forster Weingüter, so dass Eugen Müllers 30 neue Fässer nicht mehr benötigt wurden. Aus dieser Not heraus kaufte Eugen Müller Trauben aus anderen Gebieten und baute den Wein auf eigene Rechnung aus. In den darauf folgenden Jahren erwarb er immer mehr Rebland durch Pacht und Kauf, was schließlich 1971 zur Gründung des Weinguts Eugen Müller führte. Bereits ein Jahr zuvor gab der Betrieb die Holzküferei auf, während er die Lohnküferei bis 1989 ausführte.

Nach dem Weinbaustudium in Geisenheim leitet Kurt Müller seit 1971 das Weingut. Im Juni 2000 stieg Sohn Stephan ins Weingut ein, der ebenfalls in Geisenheim sein Diplom für Weinbau und Kellerwirtschaft erwarb. Beide verstehen es, die Betriebsphilosophie von "kompromissloser Qualität" mit großem Erfolg weiterzuführen.

 

Besuchen Sie uns auf Facebook